Thursday 30th Mar, 2017

Gala Award Night Winners

Civil Mining and Construction MD Peter Kendall (right) on one of his many trips to the stage, with CCF National President Tony Baulderstone
Civil Mining and Construction MD Peter Kendall (right) on one of his many trips to the stage, with CCF National President Tony Baulderstone

Judging by the positive feedback, attendees at the Gala Awards Dinner that concluded the formalities of the CCF National Conference were as much winners as were those who received the trophies.

The winners were announced of:

  • The National CCF Earth Awards
  • The National Civil Train Awards, and
  • The Earthmover and Civil Contractor Awards.

First time MC Michael Pope won over his audience with his ability to engage the audience and those receiving the awards, without drawing attention away from the winners. His ability to engage with the normally reticent team from was remarkable.

Queensland projects won a remarkable four of the six Earth Award categories. For those seeing conspiracy theories, not one of the four judges was from Queensland. Two of the four category wins reflected the challenges of rebuilding after the 2011 and 2013 floods.

It was a big night for contractor Civil Mining and Construction Pty Ltd and its laconic MD Peter Kendall, taking out Category 2 and being a partner in the Category 5 win, as well as having its apprentice Harvey Neville take out the Civil Train Certificate III training award.

If the excitement of this confluence of awards caused Peter’s heart rate to rise a beat, he certainly disguised it well.

The winners were:

Earth Awards

Category 1 (to $2m) – Maritime Constructions Pty Ltd, Vermi-remediation Pty Ltd, Department of Environment, Creation Innovation Agriculture and Forestry; Water and Natural Resources  for the Sediment Manager of Patawalonga Lakes Systems Stage 2 Project (SA)

Category 2 ($2-10m) – Civil Mining & Construction Pty Ltd (CMC) for the Goggs Street and West Creek Channel Project, Toowoomba

Category 3 ($10-30m) – Territoria Civil for the Vopak Low Aromatic Fuel Facility Project, Darwin

Category 4 ($30-75m) sponsored by Brooks Hire – Seymour Whyte Constructions for the North Coast Batter Slope Stabilisation Project (QLD)

Category 5 ($75-150m) sponsored by – CMC/Downer Joint Venture and the Department of Transport and Main Roads for the Pacific Motorway Upgrade – Worongary to Robina Project (QLD)

Category 6 (over $150m) sponsored by Arthur J Gallagher – McConnell Dowell Constructors Pty Ltd for the Gold Coast Light Rail Project Stage One.

Civil Train Industry Training Awards

Certificate III sponsored by Komatsu – Harvey Neville, Civil Mining & Construction Pty Ltd (QLD)

Certificate IV sponsored by Komatsu – Justin Hanley, DM Civil Contractors (WA)

External Training Program sponsored by Plant Specs On-Line – Position Partners Campus

The Earthmover and Civil Contractor Awards

Hitachi Newsmaker of the Year – Pauline Vamos , CEO of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia

Shore Hire Product Innovation Award – Position Partners for the Topcon mmGPS control system for concrete kerbers and slipform pavers

EMCC Service to Industry Award – Bowhill Engineering

Position Partners OHS Achievement Award – Conplant for its Manned and Remote Control System

Plant Assessor Technology Release of the Year – Worldpoly for the PolyForce 630 CNC Track Fusion Machine

EMCC Environmental Choice Award – Infratech Industries Pty Ltd for its solar waste water treatment plant at Jamestown

Conplant Professional Advisor of the Year Award – Alan Robertson of Ausrocks

Clark Equipment Operator of the Year Award – Andy Haggarty of Caldme Excavations Pty Ltd.

EMCC Hall of Fame Inductee – Ken Edgley.